The Inaugural Post

Since transitioning from completion of a dissertation, earning the Ph.D., and being hired on as a faculty member, it’s been a busy few months.  Along the way I keep having this thought, “how come no one told me about this?”

There is no blame on my doctoral program because there is NO WAY they could teach me this stuff.

So, here we are.  What I hope to do is walk you through my trials and tribulations as a ‘first year faculty.’ Please know that everyone will be unique based on location, university, expectations, etc… but along with the thought above, I also thought, “I bet I’m not the only one….”

Comments: make them. Tell me I’m right, tell me I’m wrong, share your story.  Want to guest blog?  Just say so.  Have a burning topic that I’m missing?  You can guest blog 🙂

Will I blog every day?  Heck no–I’m too busy keeping my head above the water, learning the ropes, and praying for grant funding. But, I make the vow to try and blog each week. I check often, I receive the email alerts.

A few guidelines:

  • Let’s learn from each other shall we?  Odds are–you’re not the only first year faculty that feels like they’re drowning…
  • Be constructive.
  • Be gentle yet firm, but never mean.
  • Respect people’s privacy.  I won’t use names (other than my own) so you shouldn’t either (pseudonyms accepted).
  • If you want to guest blog and not identify yourself, that’s ok.
  • This is not research. That is not the intent of this blog.
  • This is not a place to just ‘complain.’ There are great things happening, let’s celebrate those too!
  • It’s perfectly ok to be “wrong” or have a day where nothing went ‘right’ b/c that’s life.

Are we all on the same page?  Good.

Let’s get started!

 

My personal short list of topics:

  • HR: your new best friend
  • Learning the ropes, retirement, insurance, parking…etc….
  • Working with grad students
  • EMAIL onslaught
  • Managing the balance between teaching/research/grants/scholarship
  • Home life? what home life?
  • Politics 101
  • Office staff-gossip
  • Building new relationships-transitioning from grad student
  • Getting into the system-list serv’s, people to meet
  • Awkward Turtle moments
  • Bumping your head, tripping, falling, bruising yourself and sometimes your ego

Want to add a topic?  Just say so!  (leave a comment)

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “The Inaugural Post

  1. Holly says:

    Love it TDrape! I’m excited to follow along on your journey!

  2. tiffanydrape says:

    I would love it if you would guest post 🙂

    In celebration of starting your faculty position–how are you feeling? what are you anxious about? what are you excited about? how was the negotiation process?

Leave a Reply

