Keeping your CV ‘so fresh, so clean’


photo from

Outkast came to mind when I ran across an article regarding the dreaded CV and keeping it updated. I’ve been in a bit of a funk about mine lately, it was clunky, ugly, too much about my GRA, and I (like all other new faculty) had failed to update it since assuming my post in this new job.

Needless to say, it was time to get my CV looking a bit fresher, cleaner, and more streamlined. I had been fortunate to get an article accepted, another successfully submitted, and added some other sweet things to my professional experience–a good problem to have.

I’ve read 100 blog posts, articles online, asked colleagues, friends, and the guy at the grocery store but everyone’s got a different recommendation on formatting, layout, look, font size, the lines, footers, headers, etc…. basically, it’s a free for all.

I emailed some trusted colleagues and requested theirs. Why? Because I know they do good work. I also shared my updated version with them once it was done. The collegiality of these folks amazes me and while it shouldn’t, we did survive  go through grad school together, I consider these folks my colleagues and friends.  They were very obliging and I took what they sent, what I had on file from being on faculty searches, and some other tidbits and re-worked mine.

As a new faculty, it’s hard to go through a CV because in all honesty, there’s not much there. It’s hard to ‘start over’ academically speaking when you’ve had some really great and relevant experience in your previous life.

What advice would you give a new faculty in order to keep their CV in order?  How do you keep your CV so fresh, so clean?

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

