What I Did on Winter “Break”

Winter Break | New Faculty

source

I don’t know who gets a break other than the students…it wasn’t me! I am fortunate to have a job that gives me flexibility on where I work (I’ve been hiding out at home for optimal productivity lately) and technology is truly an amazing thing but I’m here to tell you one thing: anyone who thinks that faculty get the ‘whole month off’ is nuts. Did I take a week off between Christmas and New Year’s? Yes. Did I feel guilty? No. Did I still check email? Yes (hangs head in shame). I also planned a four day weekend to see a good friend. Sue me later.

Here’s what I did accomplish:

  • coding a mass amount of data for research
  • contributed to an article with a grad student
  • contributed to a pre-accepted article
  • consulting work to earn some extra cash to pay for the ‘holidays’ that I gave myself
  • catching up on/writing new posts
  • job hunting (I’m funded on soft money still)

I had several people lament that I would have the whole month off. I’d like to know where these people work because I have yet to meet any kind of academic who ISN’T always working to some extent. After the week of Christmas off,  I was going a little nuts anyway. I DID clean out my closets, organize things, and donate several bags of goods to good will so I guess I channeled that energy some place else that was abandoned once the work break was done.

All in all, it has been a successful ‘break.’ I did need a week to clear my brain, do some other things, and take a little time to not run around like a crazy person. But, I have bad news for the rest of the world: I did NOT get a month off….have to find another faculty who did!

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

