Using the “Other” Half of Your Brain

Using the Other Half of Your Brain | new faculty

As a new faculty, it is healthy to take some time for yourself and do some things you enjoy! YOU. It’s not SELFISH, in fact, if you’re not doing it-stop whatever you’re doing and go do something YOU want for at least an hour. Seriously. This is your LIFE now, so you might as well start “trying” to balance some things out in it. I know, it won’t always go perfectly, but before you say “yes” to another grad student, another meeting, or another useless ___________ (fill in the blank), go do something for yourself. If you can’t do it right now, plan it, mark up your calendar, block the time, schedule it, and FOLLOW THROUGH.

Last week was the last ‘grace’ week on my calendar. The last week where I could get away with not driving myself to exhaustion and worked on some writing deadlines, last minute things, and started planning for the upcoming weeks. I also set aside some time to make the other side of my brain happy. I spend a lot of time in one half but not the other and as a new faculty–you do too–

It was also a great week to take care of “life things” that we get the pleasure of doing as adults — I traded in my car because Toyota was offering amazing incentives. I won’t lie, I’m pretty excited about the touch panel in my new car–it’s pretty ‘fancy’ and by far, the nicest care I’ve ever driven! I’m so thankful to have been able to do this. The universe and Toyota aligned and I was fortunate to pick one up!

Using the Other Half of Your Brain | new faculty

I also had the pleasure of “life things” that included a dental appt., meetings for various adult type responsibilities, but I carved out some final time for MYSELF. Yes, MEEEEEE!!!

I actually have HOBBIES outside of work. They include but are not limited to:

  • walking/running *i try to run*
  • yoga
  • photography
  • playing guitar
  • sewing *a skill my mema taught me as a child & now i’m so thankful!*
  • crafts
  • cooking *i have a food blog*

I don’t know about you, but when I want to exercise the other half of my brain, I like small projects. Crafts, sewing, photos, etc…and this summer it included cleaning the thing I call “my office” because it was a complete disaster.  A year’s worth of stuff had piled up, along with dust bunnies the size of actual bunnies!

The Other Half of Your Brain | New Faculty

So, there you have it–use the other half of your brain. Engage it and work to at least balance that part–we both know that the rest will never be easy but allowing your creative side to come out CAN help the ‘working side’ perform better and generally put you in a better state of mind.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

