Summer Slow Down

20140715-101908-37148869.jpg

Summer Slow Down | New Faculty

In case you haven’t noticed, I haven’t been authoring much this summer. I wish I had a better reason and/or excuse, but I don’t. I’m just not. I’ve been working and am about to head out on vacation for a few weeks so don’t expect much out of this brain for a while. I’ve tried to reblog some of what I think is “good stuff” and I hope you think so too.

On that note, I’ve also done my usual social media shutdown too. I’ve quit posting things on my actual person (that’s me in real life) facebook account in general. I’ve removed the app from my iphone. I’ve noticed that when I get to the point where social media pisses me off, it’s time to take a break from it. Rather than deactivate, which I do several times a year, I am trying to break the habit of hitting the app on my phone when I’m bored, in between meetings, or something else that will grab my attention.

I share this with you not to brag, but to remind you (and me) that there’s more to life than work and social media. We may never find the balance, but we can enjoy what’s right in front of us. Hopefully it’s not a super giant pile of work. August will come and soon the syllabi will be flying. Until then, we’ve got a few weeks to slow down and enjoy life. I’m also slightly annoyed that facebook has been conducting research on me without my consent. The NERVE!

I’m practicing being more present. I’m reducing the distraction.

I’m enjoying my summer. I hope you are too!

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Summer Slow Down

  1. Jenny Sue says:

    Thanks for reminder!

Leave a Reply

