Delegating for the Win

2016-03-17 08.30.21

I’ve been gone for about two weeks now and I have to say, life has been good work-wise. Not because I’m not there, but because before I left, I worked like a dog and delegated.

It wasn’t easy letting go of all that perceived control. I like knowing what’s going on w my project work, grant work, and students, but I had no choice. With less than great Internet (ok, less than great electricity in general) for the majority of the trip, I knew I would have no choice but to adapt quickly and delegate everything I could. So I did.

I have to admit, it was pretty nice not having to worry about as many things. I would see emails when the electricity was on, but for the most part, my part was done or the people knew I was gone and they didn’t necessarily expect me to respond right away.

I have a great team behind me and I know how lucky I am to have them in my life. They’re all capable, bright, and more than intelligent enough to live for three weeks without me. There’s a few days left of this trip before I begin the journey home and while I’m glad to have come and done this work, I’m also very excited to go home. I cannot stress how important delegating was to the success of this trip in order for it to go smoothly. The list for what to do when I get home is getting longer every day, but I have taken a great deal of comfort knowing things were done while I was gone and it allowed me to enjoy this stretch of travel a little bit more. I worried less when there was no electricity and it enabled me to engage more with the world sitting right in front of me instead of what was happening some 7800 miles away.

Leave a Reply

